Knitting hibernation

There is something incredibly decadent and satisfying about canceling everything on your to-do list, sitting at home and knitting with fabulous yarn.

I knit as active meditation, and as exercise for my hands (blasted early-onset arthritis), so I have never bothered to try and develop speed. This has been really problematic only during the three month Christmas present sprint I tend to do each year. Otherwise, the slow rhythm of knitting is exceptionally comforting to me.

After such a tumultuous week, it was heaven to sit down with a skein of decadent yarn and whip out a cowl. I am ball-winding challenged, and ended up with my hank in quite the gordian knot, but once I got all untangled, I was good to go.

photo (2)

This is out of the Lorna’s delightful hand-dyed yarns in Vera, working into the crazy quick Garland Cowl. I edited out some rows, due to concerns about the amount of yarn I actually had. Since I’m a tight knitter, I also upgraded to size 13 needles. I wanted it to be a bit airy.

It traveled with me a bit, as you can see from game night in the background. It also was able to field trip to my favorite craft brewery, where I was able to catch up with a friend as I sewed in the ends.

This week, it’s been terribly cold. Not polar vortex cold (only due to lack of wind, though), and such extremes takes a toll on my mood. Although it desperately needs to be blocked, I decided to wear my new accessory anyway. The pink brightens the day, and it made me happy to wear such a lovely, happy piece of my own work.

Leave a Reply

